High School

High School Admission and Transfer Information

The Columbia Board of Education has developed a Designated High School Policy (5117) to provide an equitable and deliberate process for Columbia-resident, high school age students to select and attend a designated high school.
Columbia residents enrolled in grade eight at Horace W. Porter School receive high school admission information through presentations and correspondence managed by the School Guidance Counselor.
Columbia residents who are enrolled in grade eight in a private elementary school or who are home schooled and approaching high school-age are asked to contact the School Counselor, Mrs. Corey Polakowski (cpolakowski@hwporter.org)  to receive high school admission information.
Columbia-resident, high school age students who are already enrolled in a designated high school, private high school, or magnet/charter high school and wish to transfer to a different designated high school, magnet/charter high school are asked to contact the Superintendent, Maria Geryk, (mgeryk@hwporter.org) to receive high school transfer approval.

The Columbia School System offers three designated high schools for matriculation.


Bolton High School's focus on the continuous improvement of student learning creates a rich and diverse learning environment at all levels of the educational organization filled with innovation, collaboration, and excellence.  As a result,  students master rigorous grade level standards while developing core thinking and learning competencies and engaging in powerful, real-world learning experiences necessary for success in college, careers, and as global citizens.  Students develop essential knowledge and learning skills in all disciplines necessary to become ethical citizens who are innovative and influential leaders in their world through:

Effective Oral and Written Communication
 Critical Thinking and Problem Solving
 Leadership and Innovation
Accessing and Analyzing Information

Bolton High School Information Video

Click on Bolton High School on the left navigation bar for more links.

E.O. Smith High School offers students a wide breadth of education to prepare them for the future. They host active academic departments, an agricultural training program, and a number of student clubs and extra-curricular activities. E.O. Smith's world-class Library Media Center and computer labs reinforce and enhance our education programs. E.O. Smith has a sports program - our mascot is the Panther - and an active alumni community. They encourage our students to develop the motivation and capacity for lifelong learning.
Core Values

We strive to have all members of the E.O. Smith community support and promote these values. Edwin O. Smith High School's five core values are:

Respect   •   Responsibility   •   Integrity   •   Achievement   •   Community

 Regional School District #19 is made up by the towns of Ashford, Columbia, Mansfield, and Willington and provides education for grades 9-12.

Click on EO Smith School on the left navigation bar for more links.

windham Tech logo

The mission of the Connecticut Technical High School System is to provide a world-class, unique and rigorous learning environment for high school students and adult learners that:

• Ensures both student academic success and career technical education mastery, as well as promotes enthusiasm for lifelong learning;
• Prepares students for post-secondary education, including apprenticeships and immediate productive employment;
• Engages regional, state, national and international employers and industries in a vibrant collaboration to respond to current, emerging and changing global workforce needs and expectations; and
• Pursues and participates in global partnerships that provide CTHSS students with international exposure and experience.
Click on Windham Technical School on the left navigation bar for more links.

Lyman Memorial High School is no longer a designated high school. Columbia VOAG students may enroll in the Lyman Memorial High School VOAG program with the approval of the Columbia Board of Education.